Press Release On Vetting Of MP Aspirantes In The Volta Region


Good evening ladies and gentlemen of the Press. We are compelled by the high public interest in the NDC Primaries in the Volta Region to issue this Press Release to assuage the expectations of stakeholders and the public.

Ninety-six (96) aspirants comprising 84 males and 12 females were vetted in Ho on Thursday 8th and Friday 9th October 2015 to contest 26 seats parliamentary seats in 26 constituencies in the Volta Region, penciled for 7th November 2015.

The joint Vetting Committee, under the chairmanship of Hon Samuel Ofosu Ampofo, included National Executives officers like Hon Huduu Yahaya, Hon Kofi Attor, Capt Joshua Akamba, Hon Solomon Nkansah, Alhaji PMC and Regional Executives under the leadership of Hon John Kwadwo Gyapong and the Constituency Executives of the respective aspirants.

Eighty-six (86) aspirants from 24 Constituencies including 12 females were cleared to contest the primaries on the ticket of the NDC in the respective constituencies on 7th November 2015.

Clearance for five the (5) Aspirants from Nkwanta South has been put on hold for further consultations. The clearance of two Aspirants from Ketu South, Hon Albert Zigah and Mr Jim Morti and Mr Christopher Eleblu from North Tongu has been referred to National for legal on constitutional opinion.

Two Aspirants, Mr Solomon Bachabori from Nkwanta North and Ahmed Muniru from Akan, were disqualified on grounds of going independent. A third person from Kpando, Mr Anthony Selorm Morrison Kofituo was also not cleared because of misrepresentation of information on his CV.

Two sitting MPs, Hon Dr James Klutse Avedzi, MP for Ketu North and Hon Fifi Kwetey could not appear before the Vetting Committee because they were outside the country on official duty. They will be vetted on their return.


Simon Amegashie-Viglo

Reg Sec

cc Regional Chairman
MPs Caucus
Constituency Chairmen
All Aspirants
The Press

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Radio
WP Radio